Tuesday, 29 November 2011

Soalan Lazim...

Bila datang Jepun ni, kita sentiasa fikir pasal makanan dan pergaulan dengan orang2 Jepun..  ad mesej drpd HICC yang mungkin boleh jadi panduan untuk kita...

Assalamu alaikum. Thank you for your efforts. 
I have some questions: 
1- Is the meat imported from Australia/USA Halal? I know many brothers buy this meat from COSTCO (American Shaping Mall) and they say its Halal because it comes from Ahl-Al-Kitab. I have to add that NO MENTION on the package that is Halal. 
2- Is NYUKAZAI Haram ? Also I know many brothers don't care about this when they buy bread, sweets and so on. 
3- As you know, in Japan, the Japanese people often organize parties (welcome party, end-of-year party, Laboratory party, ...). Do we have to attend if they invite us? You know also that in all parties, the Japanese drink alcohol. What should be do in such situations? 
Baraka Allahu Fikoum for your continuous work, and may Allah SWT reward you all and us Al-Janna, ameen. 

Answer from Imam Mohsen:
Praise be to Allah.

1- Ruling on eating meat imported from non-Muslim countries:
The scholars of Islam unanimously agree that meat slaughtered by the mushrikeen, those who worship idols and deny other religions, and all other kinds of kaafirs who are not Jews, Christians or Magians, is haraam. And they unanimously agree that meat slaughtered by the People of the Book (Jews and Christians), is permissible.

The evidence for that is the verse in which Allah says in His Holy Book:
“Made lawful to you this day are At Tayyibaat [all kinds of Halaal (lawful) foods, which Allaah has made lawful (meat of slaughtered edible animals, milk products, fats, vegetables and fruits)]. The food (slaughtered cattle, eatable animals) of the people of the Scripture (Jews and Christians) is lawful to you and yours is lawful to them”
[al-Maa’idah 5:5]. 

So Allah clearly stated that the food of the People of the Book is permissible for us, and "their food" means meat slaughtered by them, as stated by Ibn ‘Abbaas and other scholars. So what is implied by this verse is that the food of kaafirs other than the People of the Book is haraam for us. This is the view of all the scholars.

If the meat is slaughtered by other kaafirs, then it is haram for the Muslims and it is not permissible for them to eat it, according to the text and scholarly consensus. Nor is it sufficient to mention the name of Allah over it when washing it or eating it.

Meat slaughtered by one of the people of the Book (a Jew or a Christian) is permissible subject to two conditions: 
1 – That the meat be slaughtered the same way as a Muslim does it, but cutting the throat and oesophagus and letting the blood flow. If the animal is killed by strangling or electric shock or drowning in water, its meat is not permissible. Similarly, if a Muslim does that, the meat is not permissible. 
2 – No name other than that of Allah should be mentioned over it, because Allah says: 
“Eat not (O believers) of that (meat) on which Allah’s Name has not been pronounced (at the time of the slaughtering of the animal)”
[al-An’aam 6:121] 

The people who allow the eating of such meat misunderstand a narration about some Muslim people who were new in Islam. Some of the Sahabah (may Allah be pleased with them) asked the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) about the meat they were bringing.

They said: "O Messenger of Allah, some people who are new in Islam bring meat to us, and we do not know whether they mentioned the name of Allah over it or not." This was narrated by al-Bukhaari from the hadeeth of ‘Aa’ishah (may Allah be pleased with her).

Thus it is clear that there is no evidence for the one who buys meat slaughtered by kaafirs from those stores other than the People of the Book and says the name of Allah over it, because the hadeeth narrated by ‘Aa’ishah talks about Muslims, not kaafirs.

There is no evidence, because the Muslim is to be regarded as sound and righteous so long as nothing is known to the contrary. It may be that the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) told those people to say the name of Allah when eating the meat to be on the safe side and in order to counter the whispers of the Shaytaan. It was not for the purpose of making haram meat halal. And Allah knows best. 


The meat coming from Europe, America and Australia is not all Halal, because many of the animals are not being slaughtered in the proper Shar’iah manner. They often kill the animals by strangulation or electrocution. I have also heard from some trustworthy brothers living in these countries that many workers at these slaughterhouses are from China, Vietnam and other countries. The majority of them are not from the People of the Book.

So it is not allowed to eat the meat imported from these countries unless you know clearly that it is Halal. It is essential to pay attention to this matter and be mindful of carelessness for which there is no reason.

2- Ruling on Nyukazai:
We must ask about the source of the nukazai. If it is from plants, vegetables, milk or eggs, it is Halal, but if it is from an animal source, it is haram.
Note: Sometimes the Japanese consider milk and eggs as animal sources, So please double check.
3- Ruling on going to parties where there is alcohol:
Allah says: "… And if Shaytaan causes you to forget, then after the remembrance sit not in the company of those people who are the zaalimeen (polytheists and wrong-doers, etc.)." [al-An'aam 6:68]

Jabir (may Allah be pleased with him) reported that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: "Whoever believes in Allah and the last day, should not sit at a table where wine is being served." (Reported by al-Tirmidhi; classed as saheeh in Saheeh al-Jaami). m 

Abu Sa'eed al-Khudri said: "The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: 'Allah will ask His slave on the Day of Resurrection until He says: What prevented you, when you saw something evil, from denouncing it?'" According to another report: "One of you will be asked on the Day of Resurrection until he is asked: What prevented you from denouncing evil when you saw it?" (Reported by Imam Ahmad and Ibn Majah; see also Saheeh al-Jaami'). m).

I think that now, my brother, you know the ruling concerning going to parties where there is wine and other evils. When the believer sits in such gatherings it is as if his heart dies from merely seeing what is going on and saying anything about it, even if he himself does not partake of it. 
So in general it is better not to attend these kinds of parties, you can apologise and explain nicely to your boss that it is not allowed in Islam to attend.
But if your attendance is necessary for work (welcoming parties, end-of-year parties etc...), then perhaps your attendance in that case may be acceptable. However, at the same time, you should strive to lower your gaze and hate what you see accidentally, and try to be out as soon as possible you finish your purpose, This means that you are committing the lesser of two evils.
May Allah help the Muslims to do that which is in their best religious interests and to instill a fear of Him.
And Allah knows best.

Mohsen Shaker Bayoumy
Imam of Osaka Ibaraki Mosque

Ambik yang mana patut...
Allah Yang Maha Mengetahui segalanya...

No comments:

Post a Comment